The Sensational Sixties

Dulcima Records / Johnny Douglas Enterprises
Johnny Douglas Tribute Page on Facebook

The Sensational Sixties

Sing and dance to forty fabulous songs of the Sixties with HAROLD RICH and COLIN CAMPBELL.

Pianorama Biography

Pianorama was formed by the late Norrie Paramor – a quintet made up of two pianos, rhythm guitar, bass guitar and drums, and broadcasted from BBC Pebble Mill for several years.  It gained its popularity from being a regular “ingredient” on the Charlie Chester “Sunday Soapbox” programme on Radio 2.  The two original pianists were Norrie Paramor and Harold Rich, both of whom also broadcasted with their own orchestras.

Harold Rich succeeded Norrie Paramor as leader of the group and Colin Campbell joined as the “other” pianist.

Harold is not only a pianist.  He is an accomplished musical director, arranger, composer and conductor.  He served in the Royal Navy and was pianist/arranger for the Royal Navy Barracks Dance Band, “The Blue Jackets”.  During this period, in 1946, he made his first broadcast, a 15-minute solo spot.

He studied at the Royal College of Music where he won the Hopkinson Gold and Silver Medals for Piano and the Dannreuher Prize for the best performance of a Concerto.

He began his musical career as accompanist to the George Mitchell Choir and the Continental Ballet Company and then to such famous artists as the violinist, Frederick Grinke, the cellist, Florence Hooton, and singers like Cynthia Glover and Owen Brannigan.

In 1960, Harold joined the BBC Midland Light Orchestra followed by the BBC Midland Radio Orchestra, and played with the Palm Court Trio.  In 1961, he formed the Harold Rich Quartet, later to be augmented and known as the Easy Six, making numerous broadcasts.  He has been MD on television to Tom Jones, Vic Damone and Eartha Kitt and Musical Director to the popular television programme “Pebble Mill At One”.

In addition to Pianorama, Harold has played for the Stanley Black, Johnny Douglas, Frank Chacksfield and John Gregory Orchestras.

Pianorama has recorded five albums on the Dulcima Label. 

The Sensational Sixties

Compact Disc DLCD 108

  £13.25 (plus £2.20 P&P)
  $32.00 (includes $8 shipping)

order by cheque or money order

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Fings Ain't What They Used To Be / Those Were The Days / What Now My Love, 3.25
  2. The Second Time Around, 2.40
  3. There's A Kind of Hush / This Guy's In Love With You / Winchester Cathedral, 3.52
  4. Love Is Blue / My Cherie Amour / Stranger On The Shore, 4.39
  5. Hello Dolly / I Love You Samantha / All My Loving, 3.33
  6. SoftIy As I Leave You, 2.13
  7. I Love You Because / Michelle / Release Me, 3.35
  8. Can't Buy Me Love / Let's Twist Again / She Loves You, 4.20
  9. Rambling Rose / More / Paper Roses, 4.39
  10. It's Not Unusual / Gonna Build A Mountain / Walking Back To Happiness, 3.52
  11. Yesterday, 2.47
  12. Flowers In The Rain / Summer Holiday / Yellow Submarine, 3.55
  13. Simon Smith & His Amazing Dancing Bear / Mister Tambourine Man / Cabaret, 4.06
  14. Days of Wine And Roses, 2.40
  15. When I'm Sixty Four / Come On Over To My Place / A Hard Day's Night, 3.39
  16. Up, Up And Away I Mrs Robinson / If I Ruled The World, 4.23


Moray Firth Radio - August 1990

Thanks for sending me a copy of 'The Sensational Sixties'.  Like previous releases on your label it makes excellent listening.

Alan Gillies
Presenter 'Take it Easy' - Moray Firth Radio

ˆ back to top

design. Red Squirrel