Just Pure Gold

Dulcima Records / Johnny Douglas Enterprises
Johnny Douglas Tribute Page on Facebook

Just Pure Gold

Johnny Douglas and his Concert Orchestra play two albums digitally re-mastered from the Decca years, The Broadway Waltzes and Golden Strings, combined to make one album of 21 golden melodies.

The Golden Strings of Johnny Douglas shimmer through this brightly varied musical cavalcade to create a tuneful garland of songs for lazy and eminently likeable listening.


Just Pure Gold

Compact Disc DLCD 119

  £13.25 (plus £2.20 P&P)
  $32.00 (includes $8 shipping)

order by cheque or money order

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Catch A Falling Star, 3.46
  2. The Story of a Starry Night, 4.31
  3. A Wonderful Guy, (South Pacific) 3.33
  4. La Vie en Rose, 3.33
  5. Cherokee, 2.48
  6. Hello Young Lovers, (The King and I) 2.56
  7. All in a Golden Afternoon, (Alice in Wonderland) 2.42
  8. I Feel Pretty, (West Side Story) 2.33
  9. The Song Is You, (Music in the Air) 3.17
  10. Oh! What a Beautiful Mornin', (Oklahoma) 3.29
  11. Seven Golden Bells, 3.14
  12. Theme from 'A Summer Place', 2.51
  13. Allez-vous en, Go Away, (Can Can) 3.08
  14. The Green Leaves of Summer, (The Alamo) 3.56
  15. The Carousel Waltz, (Carousel) 4.20
  16. I Still See Elisa, (Paint Your Wagon) 3.33
  17. When I'm not near the Girl I Love, (Finian's Rainbow) 3.28
  18. Lucy's Theme from 'Parrish', 3.36
  19. The Girl That I Marry, (Annie Get Your Gun) 3.29
  20. Out of My Dreams, (Oklahoma) 3.06
  21. This Nearly Was Mine, (South Pacific) 3.26


"Just Pure Gold" - Played and enjoyed. In fact. Just pure Gold!
Michael Webbon, Hampshire

"Just Pure Gold" - which it really is. Just what we need these days in what is becoming a musical desert.
Graham Danton, BBC Radio Devon

Public Reaction...

Sound superb. A lot of titles you don't see very much...It gives record buyers the opportunity to hear these tunes again. a great tribute to John.
Mike Ross-Trevor

Just released on CD this compilation from two original Decca albums 'The Broadway Waltzes' (1959) and 'Golden Strings' (1963) this CD has a very period feel.  It has great tunes, brilliant arranged.  I found myself surprised to be reminded how much colour can be found in an orchestra, and I wanted to see the scores to discover how some of Johnny Douglas' effects were achieved.  The orchestration constantly scintillates.  I particularly enjoyed This Nearly Was Mine.  Charming and easy to listen to.
W. Ashton – The Light Music Society

21 tracks arranged by Johnny Douglas taken from his Decca LPs ‘Golden Strings’ and ‘The Broadway Waltzes’.  Purists will be disappointed that these two albums in total lasted longer than the time available on a CD, necessitating the ‘loss’ of several numbers, but these lovely recordings should surely be in everyone’s collection.
David Ades – Journal Into Melody

In Tune International - December 2003

Ranked No.2 in Brian Belton's Top Ten Releases of 2003




Without achieving the international fame of several of his contemporaries the late Johnny Douglas gave us much fine music and his talent as an arranger of quality has often gone unrecognised.  Through the company he founded, Dulcima Records, we have access to many of his recordings and, recently, the company has released some of his very fine Decca recordings on CD.  Two mono albums under the title of A HANDFUL OF STARS came out on Dulcima DLCD 118 a few months ago and now we have this superb sequel CD combining his 1959 LP THE BROADWAY WALTZES with the 1963 album GOLDEN STRINGS.

The liner note quotes the mono LP numbers but I am pleased to say that the CD uses the stereo masters and the sound quality is marvellous.  So too is the playing of the full size concert orchestra and Johnny Douglas was one of those MDs who always coaxed the ultimate performance from his musicians.  This collection has been programmed as a mix of both LPs and along the way delightful touches occur.  An occasional mellow solo alto saxophone, a smooth sounding trombone choir (a Douglas trademark) and (as the CD note states) the ‘shimmering strings’.  Johnny’s creative orchestrations contain hidden delights too.  His score for CHEROKEE is terrific and the sweeping arrangements for I FEEL PRETTY and OH WHAT A BEAUTIFUL MORNING are equally splendid.
Oh what a beautiful CD!
Brian Belton – In Tune International

ˆ back to top

design. Red Squirrel